Where to Stay in Abashiri Drift Ice Season: Station or Lake

Where to stay in Abashiri for drift ice: 9 hotels compared by walk time to the port, winter status, and which ones actually sleep four.

Share
Frozen, snow-covered Lake Abashiri with bare birch trees along the shore
Lake Abashiri frozen over in winter.

The short answer to where to stay in Abashiri drift ice season: pick a station hotel — Hotel Route Inn Abashiri Ekimae is a 1-min walk from JR Abashiri Station — if you want the shortest route to the ice-breaker terminal and don't mind two rooms for a family of four. Pick a Lake Abashiri onsen hotel — Hokuten no Oka confirmed a room that sleeps four — if a hot-spring bath and dinner on site matter more than walking to the boat. That answer changes if you're travelling with a car: then the lake hotels stop being the compromise and become the more comfortable base.

Work back from the first sailing

The icebreaker "Aurora" departs from a terminal built into Michi-no-Eki Ryuhyo Kaido Abashiri, on the harbor side of town. In the 2026 season the ship ran January 20 to March 31, with the first sailing at 9:00 in late January and 9:30 from February on (checked November 2026; 2027 dates were not yet published, so reconfirm before booking). The terminal is about a 20-minute walk (roughly 1.5km) from JR Abashiri Station. A local bus and taxis also connect the station, bus terminal and port, but the bus timetable outside the cruise windows is thin, so most visitors walk, taxi, or drive. None of the nine hotels below sit close enough to the terminal to call it a short walk — "station" here means close to the train, not the boat.

The 9 Abashiri hotels, side by side

HotelZoneWalk to port terminalWinter openSleeps four?Bath
Hotel Route Inn Abashiri EkimaeStation (1-min walk)~20-min walk or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)No — twin rooms max at 2Public bath (radium, artificial)
Toyoko Inn Hokkaido Okhotsk Abashiri EkimaeStation (1-min walk)~20-min walk or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)No — rooms max at 2No (room only)
Hotel Sun AbashiriStation (2-min walk)~20-min walk or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)No — triple room maxes at 3Not stated on site
Hokkai HotelStation (about 5-min walk)~20-min walk or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)No — family Western room maxes at 3Not stated on site
Abashiri Royal HotelStation (5-min walk)~20-min walk or taxiNot confirmed — no 2026-27 winter dates on the official site as of Sept 2026; booking runs through an external systemNo — twin rooms confirmed to 2Bath and sauna (not labeled onsen)
Dormy Inn AbashiriCentral, by the bus terminalNot confirmed — bus or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)No — twin rooms sleep 1-2Natural hot spring (9F)
Abashiri Central HotelCentral, by the bus terminalNot confirmed — bus or taxiYes (checked Nov 2026)Not confirmed on official siteNo public bath
Hokuten no Oka (Lake Abashiri Tsuruga Resort)Lake AbashiriNot walkable — shuttle or carYes (checked Nov 2026)Yes — Hilltop Village Izuba rooms sleep 4Natural hot spring; some rooms have a private open-air bath
Hotel AbashirikosoLake AbashiriNot walkable — carYes (checked Nov 2026)Yes — Japanese-Western room (48m²) sleeps up to 5Natural hot spring, communal bath "Kakouharu"

Station hotels

Five of the nine are within a few minutes of JR Abashiri Station itself: Hotel Route Inn and Toyoko Inn are both a 1-min walk from the platform, Hotel Sun Abashiri is a 2-min walk, and Hokkai Hotel and Abashiri Royal Hotel are both about a 5-min walk. None of them sell a room built for four — Route Inn and Toyoko Inn top out at twin rooms for 2, Hotel Sun Abashiri's largest room is a triple for 3, and Hokkai Hotel's family Western room is sized for 3. Route Inn is the only one of the five with a public bath on site, a radium-treated artificial hot spring called Tabibito no Yu; the others are room-bath only or don't list a large bath on their official page. Being close to the train matters for the other nine articles in this guide (transfers, day trips, the airport connection) more than it matters for the boat, since the terminal itself is a 20-minute walk regardless of which station hotel you pick.

⚠️ Abashiri Royal Hotel is the one exception here we could not clear for winter. Its official site shows no closure — an August 2026 bath-hours notice and a March 2026 bathing-fee update both point to an active, operating property — but it publishes no 2026-27 winter dates, and reservations route through an external booking system rather than the hotel's own calendar. That's not a confirmed closure; it's an unanswered question. Confirm directly with the hotel before booking it for this trip.

Central Abashiri

Dormy Inn Abashiri and Abashiri Central Hotel sit near the bus terminal, a few minutes further out than the station hotels. Dormy Inn is the pick for a hot-spring bath — its 9th-floor bath, Tento no Yu, is piped from a natural source in Kitami and faces the Sea of Okhotsk, with drift ice visible from the bath on a clear day. Its twin rooms sleep 1-2, so a family of four still needs two rooms. Abashiri Central Hotel has the widest room-type range of any hotel here — ten grades from compact singles up to a suite — and markets itself as the only city hotel within walking distance of downtown restaurants, but it has no public bath and no confirmed room for four.

Lake Abashiri onsen hotels

Hokuten no Oka and Hotel Abashirikoso sit on Lake Abashiri, away from both the station and the port, and are the only two of the nine with a confirmed room for four. Hokuten no Oka's Hilltop Village Izuba rooms are listed at a maximum of 4, some higher floors up to 5; it runs a free winter shuttle bus, though we could not confirm its exact route or stops. Hotel Abashirikoso's Japanese-Western room in its Kuroyuri wing is 48m² and sleeps up to 5, combining a 10-mat tatami area with a separate twin-bed space; its communal bath, Kakouharu, has four tubs plus an outdoor bath and stays open until 9am. Neither hotel is walking distance to the port — plan on the hotel's own transport or a rental car, and confirm any harbor shuttle directly, since we found no published schedule for either.

Families: which rooms take four

Of the 9 hotels compared in this guide, only 2 — both on Lake Abashiri — sell a room type that comfortably sleeps four (official room pages checked November 2026). Every hotel in the station and central groups caps out at 2 or 3 guests per room, so a family of four staying by the train or the bus terminal needs two rooms rather than one. That's the trade-off the Quick Answer above is pointing at: the station hotels win on distance to the platform and to the rest of this guide's transfers, but the only single-room-for-four options sit on the lake, away from the port and requiring a shuttle or a car to reach either the ship or the station.

For booking timing, see when Abashiri's cruises and hotels sell out. With only one day, our cruise-vs-walk comparison explains why Abashiri and Utoro serve different plans. For age limits on the ship and ice-walk operators, see our kids' guide to drift ice; for flights, our airport comparison covers Memanbetsu, Kushiro and New Chitose. For how likely the ice is on your dates, our 40-year JMA data breakdown gives a week-by-week probability, and our Hokkaido January clothing guide covers what to pack.

Getting from each hotel to the boat

HotelBest forGetting to the portNote
Hotel Route Inn Abashiri EkimaeA budget stay right by the platform, with a bath on site~20-min walk, bus, or taxiPublic radium bath, free breakfast; twin rooms cap at 2
Toyoko Inn Hokkaido Okhotsk Abashiri EkimaeA simple room a minute from the trains~20-min walk, bus, or taxiNo public bath; rooms cap at 2
Hotel Sun AbashiriCouples or solo travelers wanting the closest walk to the trains~20-min walk, bus, or taxiTriple room is the largest, for 3
Hokkai HotelA long-running, station-area inn~20-min walk, bus, or taxiFamily Western room sleeps up to 3
Abashiri Royal HotelA station-area stay with a bath and sauna on site — confirm winter dates first~20-min walk, bus, or taxiTwin rooms confirmed to 2 guests only; winter 2026-27 operation not confirmed
Dormy Inn AbashiriA real hot-spring soak without leaving townBus or taxi from the station or bus terminal9F natural hot-spring bath faces the Okhotsk coast
Abashiri Central HotelClosest hotel to downtown shops and restaurantsBus or taxiWidest range of room grades; no public bath; no confirmed quad room
Hokuten no Oka (Lake Abashiri Tsuruga Resort)A family of four needing one room, plus an onsenHotel shuttle (winter) or car — not walkableLake-view resort; some rooms have a private open-air bath
Hotel AbashirikosoA full onsen-ryokan stay with a room for up to fiveCar; no published port shuttle foundLarge communal bath, "Kakouharu," open to guests until 9am

The icebreaker terminal itself is run by Michi-no-Eki Ryuhyo Kaido Abashiri, whose own access page is the source for the port's location and the operator to call for the current sailing schedule.

If you are wondering whether you can skip the hotel and see Abashiri as a day out from Sapporo, the timetable answers it: the Limited Express Okhotsk takes about five and a half hours each way, so a same-day return means roughly 13 and a half hours in transit for about two hours in Abashiri, with no slack if a sailing is delayed. Can you see drift ice on a day trip from Sapporo? sets out the options, including the bus tour that goes to Monbetsu instead.

Trip Essentials for Eastern Hokkaido

Things worth booking before you land, all in English:

  • eSIM — Airalo's Japan eSIM: install it at home and data works as soon as you switch off airplane mode at Memanbetsu or Kushiro Airport.
  • Tickets and day trips — Klook covers Abashiri's drift-ice icebreaker cruises; booking ahead skips the ticket-window line.

FAQ: Where to Stay in Abashiri

How far is it from JR Abashiri Station to the drift-ice ship?

About 20 minutes on foot (roughly 1.5km) to the terminal at Michi-no-Eki Ryuhyo Kaido Abashiri, or a shorter ride by taxi or the local bus when it lines up with the ferry schedule. In the 2026 season the first sailing left at 9:00 in late January and 9:30 from February onward, so staying at the station doesn't put you within walking distance of the boat itself — it puts you within walking distance of the train, the bus terminal and the rest of the town.

Which Abashiri hotels have a room that sleeps four?

Of the 9 hotels in this guide, only Hokuten no Oka (Lake Abashiri Tsuruga Resort) and Hotel Abashirikoso have a confirmed room type for four or more guests — Hokuten no Oka's Hilltop Village Izuba rooms and Abashirikoso's 48m² Japanese-Western room, which sleeps up to 5. The seven station and central hotels max out at 2 or 3 guests per room.

Is there an onsen near Abashiri Station?

Not directly at the station. Dormy Inn Abashiri, a few minutes from the bus terminal, pipes in a natural hot spring to its 9th-floor bath. Hotel Route Inn Abashiri Ekimae, a 1-min walk from the platform, has an artificial radium public bath instead of a natural spring. The two lakeside hotels, Hokuten no Oka and Hotel Abashirikoso, both have full onsen facilities, and some rooms at Hokuten no Oka add a private open-air bath.

Should I book near the station or on the lake?

Book near the station if you're relying on trains and buses for the rest of your trip, want the shortest route back from the terminal, or are traveling as a couple or solo. Book on the lake if you're a family of four needing one room, traveling with a car, or want a hot-spring bath and dinner without going back out into the cold — Hokuten no Oka and Hotel Abashirikoso are the only two in this guide built for that combination.