Where to Stay for Asahidake Skiing: Onsen Village or Asahikawa?
Where to stay for Asahidake skiing: which onsen lodges are open, which has a room for four, and when to base in Asahikawa instead (checked Sept 2026).
Quick Answer: Where to stay for Asahidake skiing comes down to one trade-off: ski-in convenience at the ropeway itself, or a wider base in Asahikawa with a groomed backup slope. If skiing the Asahidake Ropeway's ungroomed run is the actual point of the trip, sleep in Asahidake Onsen — the handful of lodges here sit right at the ropeway's lower station, so there's no morning transfer to plan around. Hotel Bear Monte is the closest lodge to the ropeway station, a 3-min walk, and its maisonette rooms are the one option here confirmed to sleep four. If anyone in the group is a beginner, very young, or you'd rather not gamble a whole trip on an unpatrolled mountain, base in Asahikawa city instead: Dormy Inn Asahikawa Natural Hot Spring puts you near the station with its own hot-spring bath, and Kamui Ski Links — a groomed, lift-served hill — is the easier day out. What flips the answer: how many of your ski days will actually be spent at Asahidake itself, versus treating it as a single side trip.
What Asahidake Is — and Is Not
Asahidake is not a resort in the lift-served sense. The Asahidake Ropeway carries skiers from Asahidake Onsen (about 1,100 m) up to Sugatami Station (about 1,600 m) in roughly 10 minutes; from there, there is no chairlift, no groomed course, and no ski patrol on the mountain (Daisetsuzan Asahidake Ropeway, checked September 2026). What markers exist are minimal boundary poles rather than a piste edge, and route-finding, avalanche awareness, and self-rescue are on the skier. The Asahidake Visitor Center runs its own winter avalanche-awareness sessions and joint mountain-rescue drills each season — a sign of how the area treats itself, not a beginner slope with safety nets (checked September 2026). If that's not the kind of day you're after, the better match is a groomed hill closer to Asahikawa city — see the beginners section below.
Asahidake Onsen at a Glance
The table below covers the four Asahidake Onsen lodges we could check directly against their own official sites in September 2026. We found five properties on record for the village; the fifth, Hotel Deer Valley, has been suspended since at least April 2024 and is covered separately below rather than in the comparison.
| Name | Walk to ropeway | Meals | Sleeps four? | Winter open (2026-27) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Bear Monte | 3-min walk | Course-dinner plans lead the site; some rates are room-only | Yes — maisonette rooms | Yes |
| Yumoto Yukoman-so | In the onsen village | Two-meal (dinner + breakfast) plans lead the site | Not stated on site | Yes |
| La Vista Daisetsuzan | Near the Asahidake Campground bus stop, a little further out | Two-meal plans (course dinner, buffet breakfast) | Not stated on site | Yes |
| K's House Hokkaido | Bus stop right outside | Self-catering — no meals included | Private rooms + dorms; confirm room type when booking | Yes |
Staying in Asahidake Onsen — the Lodges
Hotel Bear Monte reopened in June 2022 after a renovation and is the closest lodge to the ropeway station, a 3-min walk by its own account. Its maisonette-style rooms with a mini-kitchen are the one confirmed four-person option in the village, and its official plans lead with course-dinner or buffet dinner service (Hotel Bear Monte, official site, checked September 2026).
Yumoto Yukoman-so is a member of the Association to Protect Japan's Secluded Hot Springs and draws on five separate hot-spring sources. Its rooms range from 10- to 21-tatami Japanese-style rooms to Western double and twin rooms; the official site doesn't list a room built for four, so treat it as a two-person base unless you confirm otherwise when booking (Yumoto Yukoman-so, official site, checked September 2026). Notices on its own site as recently as April 2026 confirm it's operating this season.
La Vista Daisetsuzan sits a little further from the ropeway than the other three — its nearest Ideyu-go bus stop is Asahidake Campground, not the Asahidake Onsen entrance stop the others share. Rooms come in six types, and its booking pages lead with two-meal plans (a choice of course French or Japanese dinner, plus a buffet breakfast); no room-only or four-person option is stated on the official site (La Vista Daisetsuzan, official site, checked September 2026).
K's House Hokkaido is the one lodge here built for self-catering rather than half-board: no meals are included, there's a shared kitchen, and the property's own site warns there's no supermarket or convenience store nearby, so bring food with you. Its bus stop sits directly in front of the hostel. Room types include private Japanese-style, double and twin rooms plus a kitchen-equipped studio, alongside 9-bed dorms — a workable, cheaper base for a family willing to cook, though the exact room size is worth confirming when booking (K's House Hokkaido, official site, checked September 2026).
One more name still shows up on hotel-booking aggregators for this village: Hotel Deer Valley. Its own official site carries a suspension notice, most recently updated April 2, 2024, and no rooms can currently be booked there. Don't plan around it, and don't trust aggregator listings that still show it as available (Hotel Deer Valley, official site, checked September 2026).
Commuting from Asahikawa on the Ideyu-go Bus
Bus #66, the Ideyu-go line, is the only public transit link between Asahikawa and Asahidake Onsen, run by Asahikawa Denki Kido. Under the timetable in effect since October 1, 2025 — the schedule covering this winter, with no separate reduced version published — four round trips run each day: the first bus leaves Asahikawa Station at 07:15, the last one heads up at 14:15, and the last bus back down leaves Asahidake at 16:55 (Asahikawa Denki Kido, checked September 2026). The one-way fare between Asahikawa Station and Asahidake is ¥2,300 for an adult and ¥1,150 for a child. Miss the last bus down and the only option left that day is a taxi from Asahikawa Station, a considerably longer and pricier ride. For getting around Asahikawa itself before or after, see our Asahikawa area guide.
Beginners and Kids: Sleep Near Kamui Instead
Kamui Ski Links is the groomed alternative closer to the city if Asahidake's ungroomed, unpatrolled terrain isn't the right call for your group — full lift infrastructure, marked runs, and none of the self-rescue considerations above. Base in Asahikawa city rather than the onsen village, and use Dormy Inn Asahikawa Natural Hot Spring as a station-area hotel with its own bath for warming up after a day on snow. For lesson options and how the two areas actually compare for a family, see our guide to skiing Kamui from Asahikawa, and our Furano vs. Asahikawa comparison if you're deciding between the two cities for a full week. English-language kids' lessons across the wider ski cluster, including how early to book, are covered in our ski-school guide for the region. If wind holds are part of your planning too, our guide to Hokkaido's wind-hold days covers which bases survive them.
We found five Asahidake Onsen lodges on record for the village; one, Hotel Deer Valley, is currently suspended, leaving four open. Of those four, only K's House runs a no-meals, self-catering plan — the other three lead with course-dinner service (checked September 2026).
| Name | Base | Distance to ropeway | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Bear Monte | Asahidake Onsen | 3-min walk | Ski days, plus the only room here confirmed to sleep four |
| Yumoto Yukoman-so | Asahidake Onsen | In the village | Onsen-focused stay for two, five source baths |
| La Vista Daisetsuzan | Asahidake Onsen | Near the Campground bus stop | A quieter edge of the village |
| K's House Hokkaido | Asahidake Onsen | At the bus stop | Self-catering, budget-minded groups |
Trip Essentials for Asahikawa
Things worth booking before you land, all in English:
- eSIM — Airalo's Japan eSIM: install it at home and data works as soon as you switch off airplane mode at Asahikawa Airport.
- Airport transfer — Klook covers bus, train, and private transfers from Asahikawa Airport.
- Tickets and day trips — Klook covers Hokkaido ski passes, Asahiyama Zoo tickets, and Furano-Biei day tours; booking ahead skips the ticket-window line.
FAQ: Staying at Asahidake
Is Asahidake Onsen walkable without a car?
Yes, once you're there — the lodges and the ropeway station sit within a few minutes of each other on foot, with Hotel Bear Monte the closest at a 3-min walk. Getting to the village in the first place means either driving or taking the Ideyu-go bus (#66) from Asahikawa Station or Asahikawa Airport; there is no train service to Asahidake Onsen.
Do any Asahidake Onsen lodges have a room for four?
Of the lodges we could check, only Hotel Bear Monte confirms a room built for four — a maisonette-style unit with a mini-kitchen. The others list mainly double or twin rooms for two, and K's House has private rooms plus dorms where the usable capacity depends on the specific room type you book.
Is Asahidake suitable for beginners or kids?
Not as a first ski day. There's no chairlift-served groomed run, no ski patrol, and no rescue infrastructure beyond the Visitor Center's own seasonal avalanche and rescue drills. Families with beginners or young children are better served by Kamui Ski Links near Asahikawa city, a groomed, lift-served hill.
How do I get from Asahikawa to Asahidake Onsen without a car?
Take Bus #66, the Ideyu-go line, from Asahikawa Station or Asahikawa Airport. Under the timetable in effect since October 2025, four round trips run daily, with the first bus up at 07:15 and the last bus down at 16:55; the one-way adult fare from Asahikawa Station is ¥2,300.