How to Get to Tomamu: Take the Train, Skip the Rental Car
How to get to Tomamu: JR limited express + free resort shuttle from Tomamu Station, or the Resort Liner from New Chitose. Rental cars not recommended.
If you're working out how to get to Tomamu, the answer is straightforward: take the train. Take a JR limited express from Sapporo (about 1 hour 45 minutes) or change at Minami-Chitose from New Chitose Airport (about 1 hour 7 minutes from there), and a resort shuttle meets every arrival at Tomamu Station (free in 2025–26; the official 2026–27 access page states no fare) — no reservation, no wait, no car needed. If you want a direct door-to-door transfer from the airport, the Hokkaido Resort Liner bus (from ¥6,000 in 2026–27, reservation required; checked September 2026) is a solid alternative. A rental car works on paper but is not worth it: the road to Tomamu is narrow and icy in winter, the drive is long and monotonous, and once you're at the resort you won't need a car at all — everything is on shuttle or on foot.
By JR to Tomamu Station — the resort shuttle meets every train
Hoshino Resorts Tomamu operates a shuttle bus that meets every JR arrival at Tomamu Station. The bus drives guests to The Tower in about 5 minutes and to Risonare in about 10 minutes. It was free in 2025–26; the official 2026–27 access page does not state a fare (checked September 2026). No reservation is needed — step off the train, tell the staff at the exit which hotel you're heading to, and board. If no bus is in the forecourt when you arrive, a dedicated phone on Platform 2 connects directly to the resort.
Two limited express services stop at Tomamu Station on the JR Nemuro Line:
- Limited Express Ozora — runs Sapporo to Kushiro via Tomamu. Stops include Sapporo, Shin-Sapporo, Minami-Chitose, Tomamu, Shintoku, and Obihiro.
- Limited Express Tokachi — runs Sapporo to Obihiro via Tomamu. Same main stops as Ozora but terminates at Obihiro.
More than 10 limited express trains run daily in each direction (checked July 2026). Seat reservations are mandatory on both services. The Japan Rail Pass and Hokkaido Rail Pass cover the fare with a reservation supplement.
| Route | Train / Service | Approx. Time | Fare (one-way) |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Chitose Airport → Tomamu | Airport Line to Minami-Chitose, then Ozora/Tokachi | ~1h 15 min–1h 40 min (depends on the Minami-Chitose connection) | ~¥4,230 (¥2,550 fare + ¥1,680 reserved seat; checked September 2026) |
| Sapporo → Tomamu | Ozora or Tokachi limited express | ~1h 45 min | ~¥5,880 (JR Pass: supplement only) |
| Tomamu Station → The Tower | Resort shuttle (no reservation) | ~5 min | Free in 2025–26; 2026–27 fare not stated |
| Tomamu Station → Risonare | Resort shuttle (no reservation) | ~10 min | Free in 2025–26; 2026–27 fare not stated |
Practical tip: Book your seat reservation as soon as your hotel is confirmed — New Year week trains fill quickly. You can reserve JR seats at any JR ticket office in Japan or through JR Hokkaido's online system.
Direct airport transfer: Hokkaido Resort Liner from New Chitose
The Hokkaido Resort Liner (operated by Hokkaido Access Network) runs a direct bus from New Chitose Airport Domestic Terminal to Tomamu Resort Center. This is a paid, reserved service — you cannot just turn up and board.
- Fare: ¥6,000 per adult and ¥5,000 per child (one-way, 2026–27 winter, unchanged from 2025–26; checked September 2026)
- Journey time: approximately 2 hours
- Frequency: runs daily, 1 December 2026 – 30 March 2027 to Tomamu and 2 December 2026 – 31 March 2027 back to the airport (checked September 2026)
- Reservation window: book at least 9 days in advance; online booking available at access-n.jp. A departure with no bookings 9 days out does not run
Of the two verified direct-from-airport options (JR + shuttle and the Resort Liner), both take roughly 1.5–2 hours door to resort (checked July 2026). The JR route is marginally faster if your connection at Minami-Chitose is smooth; the Resort Liner is simpler if you have large luggage and prefer not to change trains.
Why a rental car is not recommended for Tomamu
Rental cars to Tomamu look tempting on the map — the resort is roughly 130 km southeast of New Chitose Airport — but most travelers are better off on the train. Three reasons stand out.
The road is narrow and icy. The main approach to Tomamu runs National Route 274 through the Hotaka Tunnel. In December and January this stretch is routinely snow-packed, and sections narrow enough that two vehicles passing requires care. If you have solid experience driving on icy mountain roads in Japan, this is manageable. If winter driving in Japan is new to you, the train removes the stress entirely.
The drive is long and monotonous. From New Chitose Airport the drive is roughly 100 km and takes about 1 hour 30 minutes in good conditions — longer when it snows. That's fine for one journey, but given that the JR option takes similar time door-to-resort and requires no driver focus, the car offers little time advantage.
Once you're there, the car sits unused. Hoshino Resorts Tomamu is a self-contained resort. The Tower and Risonare are connected by internal shuttles; dining, the Mina-Mina Beach wave pool, ski lifts, and retail are all on resort grounds. You will not need to drive anywhere during your stay. Paying for parking, warming up a cold car each morning, and scraping ice off the windshield becomes a daily chore that adds nothing to the trip.
I stayed at The Tower over New Year and never once needed a car. The shuttle system handled everything inside the resort, and the train got us there and back without incident.
If you do drive — winter road cautions
If you're connecting Tomamu with other Hokkaido destinations by car — Furano, Obihiro, or the eastern national parks — driving part of your trip can make sense. A few practical points if that's your plan.
- Use studless (winter) tyres. Rental vehicles in Hokkaido are fitted with studless tyres as standard in winter, but confirm this when booking. Chains are rarely needed on main routes but are wise to carry.
- Check road closures before departure. Hokkaido road authorities (NEXCO East, Hokkaido prefectural road office) publish real-time closure and chain-regulation information. Heavy overnight snowfall can close sections of Route 274 for several hours.
- Drive at reduced speed. On snowy roads Hokkaido drivers typically cruise at 50–60 km/h. Budget extra time and do not rely on Google Maps' default ETA in winter.
- Arrive before dark if possible. Unlit rural Hokkaido roads are harder to navigate after nightfall in snowfall.
- Fuel up in advance. The stretch between Yubari and Tomamu has limited services.
None of this should alarm you — Hokkaido roads are well-maintained and millions of visitors drive here safely every winter. The point is simply that the train makes it easier, and for a resort-only stay the car gives you nothing extra.
Where to stay once you arrive
Tomamu is a two-hotel resort. Our full Tomamu accommodation guide covers the choice in detail, but in brief: Tomamu The Tower (from ¥25,000 per room per night, room-only, low-season winter; rates vary sharply — New Year higher) is the more accessible option with dining and the Mina-Mina Beach wave pool within easy walking distance. RISONARE Tomamu offers larger suites of 100 m² or more with jetted baths — expect roughly double The Tower's room rate; verify current rates before booking.
Both hotels share access to the Mina-Mina Beach indoor wave pool (free for resort guests), the ski lifts, and the winter program. The main practical difference for arrival day is that The Tower is a 5-min walk from shuttle drop-off while Risonare's properties are a touch further.
| Hotel | Distance from Shuttle | Price Range | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tomamu The Tower | ~5-min walk | from ¥25,000 per room per night (low-season winter) | Families, easy resort access, value |
| RISONARE Tomamu | ~10-min shuttle or walk | ≈2× Tower / verify current rates | Couples, suite-seekers, quieter stay |
Rates vary sharply; New Year higher.
Book through Tomamu The Tower's booking page to check current rates for your dates. New Year week (29 December – 3 January) fills fast — reserve 6–9 months ahead for that window.
For a head-to-head comparison of these two resorts, see how access compares with Rusutsu — Rusutsu is car-friendly where Tomamu is train-first, a meaningful practical difference for itinerary planning.
Combining Tomamu with another resort changes the calculation. There is no direct service between Rusutsu and Tomamu, so that hop runs bus-plus-train with one connection to make: we set it out leg by leg in Rusutsu to Tomamu, including whether it is worth treating as a travel day or an overnight. For the wider picture — five resorts with almost no lateral links, and Sapporo and New Chitose acting as the two hinges — see how to get between Hokkaido ski resorts. And because the Hokkaido Resort Liner is reservation-only, check when Hokkaido ski transfers sell out before you fix your dates: the booking windows open earlier than most visitors expect.
Trip Essentials for Tomamu
Things worth booking before you land, all in English:
- eSIM — Airalo's Japan eSIM: install it at home and data works as soon as you switch off airplane mode at New Chitose Airport.
- Airport transfer — Klook covers bus, train, and private transfers from New Chitose Airport.
- Tickets and day trips — Klook covers tours and activities around Tomamu; booking ahead skips the ticket-window line.
FAQ: Getting to Tomamu
Which train should I take to Tomamu Station from New Chitose Airport?
From New Chitose Airport, take the JR Airport Line one stop to Minami-Chitose Station, then board the Limited Express Ozora or Limited Express Tokachi toward Obihiro or Kushiro. Both stop at Tomamu Station. The Ozora does not stop at Chitose Station itself, so Minami-Chitose is the correct transfer point. Total journey from the airport is roughly 1 hour 30–40 minutes, depending on your connection timing.
Is the resort shuttle really free and does it need a reservation?
It requires no reservation. It was free of charge in 2025–26; the official 2026–27 access page does not state a fare (checked September 2026), so confirm with your hotel. Hoshino Resorts Tomamu runs the bus to meet every JR limited express arrival. Tell the resort staff at the station exit which hotel you're heading to, and board. If the bus has not arrived when you exit the station, use the dedicated phone on Platform 2 to call the resort directly.
How much is the Hokkaido Resort Liner from New Chitose Airport to Tomamu?
For the 2026–27 winter, the one-way fare on the Hokkaido Resort Liner from New Chitose Airport to Tomamu is ¥6,000 per adult and ¥5,000 per child, unchanged from 2025–26 (checked September 2026). It runs daily from 1 December 2026 to 30 March 2027 toward Tomamu. The journey takes approximately 2 hours and advance reservation (at least 9 days before departure) is required. Book online at access-n.jp.
Can I use my Japan Rail Pass to get to Tomamu?
Yes. The Japan Rail Pass and the Hokkaido Rail Pass both cover the fare on the Limited Express Ozora and Tokachi to Tomamu Station. You will still need to make a seat reservation, which carries a small supplement (currently a few hundred yen per leg at the time of writing — verify the current reservation fee at any JR ticket office or the JR Hokkaido website).
Information audit: Last fact-checked July 2026 · Prices checked July 2026 (all rates are “from” floors that vary by season) · 2026–27 ski details (lift tickets, resort buses, season dates) checked against the resorts’ official pages in September 2026 · Rates shown are winter ski-season “from” floors; the green (summer) season is cheaper. New Year (roughly Dec 28–Jan 4) is the annual peak: at Rusutsu the Westin is priced per person (room-only, Japanese style) over the holiday — firsthand, a New Year room for three came to about ¥360,000 for one night (roughly ¥120,000 per person, tax and service included), well above the everyday per-room ski-season rate — and Tomamu prices climb sharply too. Verify the pricing basis and your exact dates on the official sites. Lift-ticket, shuttle and event details are based on 2025–26 announcements and will be updated for 2026–27. · How this guide was researched: hotel facilities, prices and access details are verified against official and primary sources; we have not personally stayed at every property listed. The author has skied Tomamu and stayed at Tomamu The Tower over New Year · Personally stayed: Tomamu The Tower — a New Year stay — all stays paid by us; no complimentary stays · How this site verifies information: About NipponStays.