> ## Content Index
> Fetch the complete content index at: https://www.nipponstays.com/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover other available public pages before exploring further.

# Sapporo Christmas Market 2026: Where to Stay Near Odori
- URL: https://www.nipponstays.com/sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay/
- Published: 2026-10-31T01:00:00.000Z
- Updated: 2026-10-31T02:26:41.000Z
- Description: Munich Christmas Market Sapporo 2026 runs Nov 20-Dec 25. Where to stay near Odori, Sapporo Station or Susukino, with official walk times.
- Author: Hideaki Yasukawa
- Tags: Sapporo, Events, #2026-11-christmas-markets-01

For the Sapporo Christmas market 2026 (the Munich Christmas Market) and the White Illumination on the same night, stay on the Odori-to-Sapporo-Station axis, and the strongest base we found is [Sapporo Grand Hotel](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-993375/sapporo-grand-hotel/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19119914&ref=nipponstays.com): its official page says it connects directly to the Sapporo-ekimae underground walkway and is about 5 minutes from Odori Park. If you would rather be at the west end of the park, [Sapporo View Hotel Odori Park](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-705841/sapporo-view-hotel-oodori-kouen/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19122938&ref=nipponstays.com) is a 5-minute walk from Odori Station Exit 1 per its official access page. Pick Susukino only if you plan to eat late, and think twice with children. The 2026 market runs November 20 to December 25 at Odori Park (checked October 2026).

## Munich Christmas Market in Sapporo 2026: dates, hours and where it is

The Munich Christmas Market in Sapporo 2026 runs from November 20 to December 25 in Odori Park, with stalls open 11:00-21:00 and last orders at 20:45, according to the official Sapporo tourism page (checked October 2026). The market is in Odori Park 1-chome and 2-chome, and the White Illumination's Odori venue sits right next to it in 3-chome to 5-chome, so the two are one walk along the park. It does not state an entry fee or closing days, so check the organiser before you go.

| Event                                         | Venue                                     | 2026 dates                  | Hours                                 |
| --------------------------------------------- | ----------------------------------------- | --------------------------- | ------------------------------------- |
| Munich Christmas Market in Sapporo            | Odori Park 1-chome and 2-chome            | Nov 20 - Dec 25             | 11:00-21:00 (last order 20:45)        |
| Sapporo White Illumination, Odori venue       | Odori Park 3-chome to 5-chome             | Nov 20 - Dec 25             | 16:30-22:00, until 24:00 on Dec 23-25 |
| Sapporo White Illumination, Ekimae-dori venue | Sapporo Station to Susukino, about 1.5 km | Nov 20, 2026 - Feb 11, 2027 | 16:30-22:00, until 24:00 on Dec 23-25 |

The overlap is the useful part. The market closes at 21:00 and the Odori lights come on at 16:30, so the window for seeing both is about 16:30 to 21:00 on most nights. The organiser notes that lighting hours can change without notice during the run. The Sapporo White Illumination runs at several venues, and the organiser says the Red Brick Government Office and Nakajima Park were added in 2026\. We have only confirmed the Odori and Ekimae-dori dates above, so for the others use the [official White Illumination site](https://www.sapporo.travel/white-illumination/?ref=nipponstays.com). The market page is [here](https://www.sapporo.travel/white-illumination/event/munich/?ref=nipponstays.com).

## Why the base matters in December

In Sapporo in December, the base that matters is the one that keeps your walk on cleared, lit streets or underground. The official White Illumination access page lists the Sapporo-ekimae underground walkway as an entrance to the Akapura (Kita 3-jo Plaza) venue: it shows 2 minutes on foot from the walkway's Exit 2 for Sapporo Station and from its Exit 4 for Odori Station. The Sapporo View hotel page describes a route from JR Sapporo Station's West Gate through the same walkway and then 5 minutes from Odori Station Exit 1, which it puts at about 20 minutes in total on foot. Of the pages we opened, only these two mention the walkway by that name.

Odori Station serves the market. The access page gives Exit 27 (1-chome), Exit 6 and Exit 8 (3-chome) for the market's side of the park; Exit 8 has an elevator. For the Odori lights it lists Exit 2 (5-chome), Exit 5 (4-chome), Exit 6 and Exit 8 (3-chome) and Exit 27 (1-chome). It gives no walking times for those exits. For a wider view of the district, see our [guide to hotels near Odori Park](https://www.nipponstays.com/hotels-near-odori-park-sapporo/).

## Odori: hotels beside the park

Staying near Odori Park puts the market and the lights within a few blocks, and the three hotels below are the ones we could place from their own pages (checked October 2026).

- [Sapporo View Hotel Odori Park](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-705841/sapporo-view-hotel-oodori-kouen/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19122938&ref=nipponstays.com) is at Odori Nishi 8-chome. Its official access page says Odori Station Exit 1 is about a 5-minute walk. The market sits at Nishi 1-2, so expect a longer walk along the park than from the station.
- [Richmond Hotel Sapporo Odori](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-846368/richmond-hotel-sapporo-odori/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19122854&ref=nipponstays.com) lists its address as Minami 2-jo Nishi 4-chome. The official page we opened gave no station or walk time, so we are not quoting one.
- [Grand Mercure Sapporo Odori Park](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-703493/grand-mercure-sapporo-odori-park/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19808210&ref=nipponstays.com) is at Kita 1-jo Nishi 11-chome. Its Accor page gives 18 minutes on foot to Sapporo Station and no distance to the market. That is the west end of the park, far from Nishi 2.

## Sapporo Station: the underground-friendly side

Staying at Sapporo Station means a cold-weather route to the park that can run underground. [Sapporo Grand Hotel](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-993375/sapporo-grand-hotel/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19119914&ref=nipponstays.com) (Kita 1-jo Nishi 4-chome) says on its official site that it connects directly to the Sapporo-ekimae underground walkway and is about 5 minutes from Odori Park; the page does not say whether that is on foot. [JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-705159/jr-tower-hotel-nikko-sapporo/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19118164&ref=nipponstays.com) states direct access to JR Sapporo Station and gives its address as Kita 5-jo Nishi 2-chome; the page we opened lists no walk time to the park.

One hotel here I know first-hand: [ANA Crowne Plaza Sapporo](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-5233469/ana-crowne-plaza-sapporo-by-ihg/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19120292&ref=nipponstays.com). I stayed there in December 2025, and a Seicomart convenience store is connected directly to the hotel, with a Hot Chef counter that sells food cooked in the store. Its address is Kita 3-jo Nishi 1-chome; I have no official walk time to Odori Park, so check a map for your route. For more on the area see [hotels near Sapporo Station](https://www.nipponstays.com/hotels-near-sapporo-station/).

## Susukino: late dinners, with a catch for families

Susukino suits you if the market is just one stop in a long evening of eating. The Ekimae-dori illumination runs all the way from Sapporo Station to Susukino, about 1.5 km, and its Susukino end is reached from Susukino Station Exits 1 and 2 and Toyosui-Susukino Station Exit 2 per the access page. [ANA Holiday Inn Sapporo Susukino](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-1940872/ana-holiday-inn-sapporo-susukino-by-ihg/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19124457&ref=nipponstays.com) is the hotel we know here. I stayed there in May 2024, and with children the downside is that you walk through the nightlife district to reach it. That was a May stay, not winter, so I can't speak for December conditions. The hotel's official page, as we last checked it in September 2026, puts it 1 minute from Susukino Station Exit 2.

If you are travelling with children, ask the hotel before booking about sharing a bed: the age limit, how many people per bed and any extra fee, since these are often not published. Our [Sapporo family hotel guide](https://www.nipponstays.com/sapporo-hotels-for-families/) covers room types, and [Sapporo Station vs Susukino](https://www.nipponstays.com/sapporo-station-vs-susukino-where-to-stay/) compares the two areas in full.

## What we counted across the seven hotels

Of the 7 hotels in this guide, 2 say on their own official pages that they connect directly to the underground walkway or to JR Sapporo Station (Sapporo Grand Hotel and JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo), and only 1 states a station-exit walk time we could quote for Odori (Sapporo View, 5 minutes from Exit 1), checked October 2026\. The rest gave addresses without walk times to the market, so they are placed by address only.

## Where to stay: quick comparison

| Base            | Hotel                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    | Distance from official page                    | Underground access?          | Best for             |
| --------------- | ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ | ---------------------------------------------- | ---------------------------- | -------------------- |
| Odori           | [Sapporo View Hotel Odori Park](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-705841/sapporo-view-hotel-oodori-kouen/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19122938&ref=nipponstays.com)             | 5-min walk from Odori Station Exit 1           | Not stated                   | West end of the park |
| Odori           | [Richmond Hotel Sapporo Odori](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-846368/richmond-hotel-sapporo-odori/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19122854&ref=nipponstays.com)                 | No walk time on page (Minami 2-jo Nishi 4)     | Not stated                   | South of the park    |
| Odori           | [Grand Mercure Sapporo Odori Park](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-703493/grand-mercure-sapporo-odori-park/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19808210&ref=nipponstays.com)         | 18-min walk to Sapporo Station; none to market | Not stated                   | Park views, far west |
| Sapporo Station | [Sapporo Grand Hotel](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-993375/sapporo-grand-hotel/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19119914&ref=nipponstays.com)                                   | About 5 min from Odori Park (mode not stated)  | Yes, to Ekimae walkway       | Market plus walkway  |
| Sapporo Station | [JR Tower Hotel Nikko Sapporo](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-705159/jr-tower-hotel-nikko-sapporo/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19118164&ref=nipponstays.com)                 | No walk time on page                           | Direct to JR Sapporo Station | Arriving by train    |
| Sapporo Station | [ANA Crowne Plaza Sapporo](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-5233469/ana-crowne-plaza-sapporo-by-ihg/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19120292&ref=nipponstays.com)                 | Not verified                                   | Not verified                 | Late snacks          |
| Susukino        | [ANA Holiday Inn Sapporo Susukino](https://www.trip.com/hotels/sapporo-hotel-detail-1940872/ana-holiday-inn-sapporo-susukino-by-ihg/?Allianceid=9711325&SID=327049682&trip%5Fsub1=sapporo-christmas-market-2026-where-to-stay&trip%5Fsub3=D19124457&ref=nipponstays.com) | 1 min from Susukino Station Exit 2             | Not stated                   | Late dinners         |

February visitors should read our [Sapporo winter events guide](https://www.nipponstays.com/sapporo-winter-events-2027/) instead, since the Snow Festival is a different trip. If Tokyo is also on your list, see [our Tokyo Christmas market comparison](https://www.nipponstays.com/tokyo-christmas-markets-2026-which-one/), and for all of Japan see [Christmas markets in Japan 2026](https://www.nipponstays.com/christmas-markets-japan-2026/).

## Trip Essentials for Sapporo

Things worth booking before you land, all in English:

- **eSIM** — [Airalo's Japan eSIM](https://airalo.tpm.lv/2TWpibQS?ref=nipponstays.com): install it at home and data works as soon as you switch off airplane mode at New Chitose.
- **Airport transfer** — [Klook](https://klook.tpm.lv/SmB9GsnI?ref=nipponstays.com) covers bus, train, and private transfers from New Chitose.
- **Luggage storage** — arriving before check-in? [Radical Storage](https://radicalstorage.tpm.lv/OTgXUqG8?ref=nipponstays.com) takes bags at shops near Sapporo Station for a flat daily rate.
- **Tickets and day trips** — [Klook](https://klook.tpm.lv/9WZ8rbff?ref=nipponstays.com) covers Sapporo tours and Hokkaido day trips; booking ahead skips the ticket-window line.

## FAQ: Sapporo Christmas market 2026

### When does the Sapporo Christmas market 2026 open and close?

The Munich Christmas Market in Sapporo runs from November 20 to December 25, 2026, 11:00-21:00 with last orders at 20:45, per the official Sapporo tourism page. The page does not state closing days.

### What time do the White Illumination lights come on?

At the Odori venue the lights run 16:30-22:00 and until 24:00 from December 23 to 25, 2026\. The Ekimae-dori venue uses the same hours and continues until February 11, 2027\. The organiser can change times without notice.

### Is the Sapporo Christmas market good with kids?

The official page lists Santa greetings, stage events and workshops at the 1-chome site, though it gives no schedule or prices. For the hotel, avoid the walk through Susukino at night; the family hotels guide covers other options. Ask any hotel about bed sharing (age, people per bed, fee) before you book.

### Is this the same trip as the Sapporo Snow Festival?

No. The Christmas market ends on December 25, 2026, while the Snow Festival is in February, so a December stay does not cover it. Use the Sapporo winter events guide for that trip.